Impact 89 FM 2021 Radio Station of the Year

April 9, 2021

Impact 89FM at Michigan State University this week was presented (via a virtual ceremony) its 17th gold record as the 2021 College Radio Station of the Year. Along with this big win, individual students received awards and broadcast scholarships. 

In 1989, Impact 89FM emerged as one of few student radio stations operating 24/7. Since then, it has become one of the largest student organizations at Michigan State, with over 150 students in paid or volunteer staff roles. Impact 89FM is part of the Division of Student Affairs and has made its mark as an essential and impressive part of MSU.

Amber Kienutske, Impact 89FM’s student station manager, said even through the pandemic, all members of Impact 89FM worked hard to produce amazing content, and therefore, it’s very important for students to be recognized for their work.

The awards are also important to the station as a whole. 

Kienutske said the awards bring the whole team together by giving them all something to work towards. Kienutske believes in the external importance of these awards, as well, and said, “It is important to represent MSU and the greater Lansing community as best as we can. We are proud to bring home these awards whenever we can because it means we are serving our community. Everything we do is for our community”.

Impact 89FM’s General Manger, Jeremy Whiting, highlighted how winning the station of the year award is an indicator of how Impact 89FM consistently serves MSU students in meaningful ways. “Impact 89FM thoughtfully updates its content to fit the needs of students and the community, making them a leader in student media in Michigan and beyond,” Whiting said.

George McNeill, Impact 89FM’s student operations manager, mentioned how submitting work to the Michigan Association of Broadcasters allows for greater exposure of Impact 89FM’s outstanding work. It also allows for students to see how their work compares to other programs. I

Importantly though, McNeill said, “beyond the excitement that comes from placement and recognition, I think our staff should – above all else – feel encouraged that the work they’re doing is unique, creative and worth celebrating.” For Impact 89FM, McNeill believes the awards illustrate the station’s culture and commitment to one another.

“Impact 89FM is, in my mind, the perfect creative incubator at MSU,” McNeill said. “No matter who you are, what you’re studying or what you want to do, our station is a place for anyone to grow in any area of media they’re interested in.”

Watch this celebration video.

Individual Student Award Winners:

  • Daily Newscast / News Feature: Honorable Mention
    • Impact Sports Update - Luke Sloan, Evan Surace
  • Pandemic Production - Spring 2020
    • 2nd Place: Social Night - Spring 2020 - Maddi Farrell, George McNeill, Amber Kienutske, Devon Bosom
  • Pandemic Production - Fall 2020
    • 2nd Place: Impact Sports - Fall 2020 - Luke Sloan
  • Promotional Announcement
    • 1st Place: Grocery Store - Evan Surace, Henry Menigoz, George McKay
  • Public Service Announcement
    • First Place: Western Exercise - Ellison Winterstein, Henry Menigoz, George McKay, Evan Surace
    • Honorable Mention: Never Too Early - Evan Surace, Henry Menigoz, Ellison Winterstein, George McKay
  • Sports Announcing Team
    • 2nd Place: Michigan State Football vs. Indiana - 11/14/20 - Eric Bach, Nathan Stearns
  • Talk Show
    • 1st Place: Backstage, Upstage - Ellison Winterstein, Noah Bosch
  • Use of Multimedia
    • 1st Place: Holiday Comma Concert - George Pham, Isaiah Johns
    • 2nd Place: Treat Me Right Music Video - George Pham, Isaiah Johns, Sarah Kutchinski, Katarina Keeley
    • Honorable Mention: WDBM Doubleheader - Luke Sloan, Trent Balley, Eric Bach, Nathan Stearns

Additionally, a number of students were recognized with broadcast scholarships at the virtual ceremony. They include:

  • Amanda Barbarena - Gary A. Reid Scholarship
  • Owen Oszust - Midwest Communications Southern Michigan Broadcasting Scholarship
  • Evan Surace - James H. Quello Scholarship
  • Ellison Winterstein - Leicinger-Biederman Scholarship

Connect With Us

Social Media FacebookSocial Media InstagramSocial Media TwitterSocial Media YouTube